worlds and worlds and more worlds

June 25, 2008



Photo copyright Matthew Barney.
I always liked films, the kind of films in which you sit down and at the end it takes you maybe just a moment to emerge from the ‘reality’ of the film. The story, the characters become real. That’s something I appreciate about matthew barney’s work, the way he pushes the absurd into a reality. Even though the characters are obviously artificial the images have a reality to them, that is absent from a lot of staged photography.

I guess as a I re-think things and move toward my newest project, this is where I’m trying to be… creating a world blurring staged, documentary creating a reality that’s a complete world of it’s own. I don’t know.

Leave a Reply

